Heimskringla or The Chronicle of the Kings of Norway

by Snorri Sturlson

The “Heimskringla” of Snorri Sturlason is a collection of sagas concerning the various rulers of Norway, from about CE 850 to the year CE 1177. Although the historical accuracy of Sturlson’s works are often debated, the Heimskringla is one of the most significant sources of this era’s history.

Originally written in Old Norse, app. 1225 CE.



  1. Halfdan the Black Saga
  2. Harald Harfager’s Saga
  3. Hakon the Good’s Saga
  4. Saga of King Harald Grafeld and of Earl Hakon Son of Sigurd
  5. King Olaf Trygvason’s Saga
  6. Saga of Olaf Haraldson (St. Olaf)
  7. Saga of Magnus the Good
  8. Saga of Harald Hardrade
  9. Saga of Olaf Kyrre
  10. Magnus Barefoot’s Saga
  11. Saga of Sigurd the Crusader and His Brothers Eystein and Olaf
  12. Saga of Magnus the Blind and of Harald Gille
  13. Saga of Sigurd, Inge, and Eystein, the Sons of Harald
  14. Saga of Hakon Herdebreid (“Hakon the Broad-Shouldered”)
  15. Magnus Erlingson’s Saga